Keeping Scale in Mind!


Okay friends, how many of you thought I was talking about the bathroom scale? Yeah, I’m with you on that dirty little word but in this case I am talking more about the décor scale.

As you may have read in an earlier post, the hunt was on for new master bedroom furniture. I’m delighted to share with you that we received it a couple of days ago and are thrilled with our choice. Take a look!

Arrival day took on some thoughts that I hadn’t had when we started the search. The morning of, we took down the old bed and placed it in our new guest room.

Since I had the room torn apart I thought it might be a grand opportunity to wash the wall where the bed would be place. My husband suggested that our rug be rotated and moved closer to the fireplace, hence leaving only a little of the rug under and anchored by the bed. Okay I admit it, he does have some good ideas, but shhhhhh!

With walls washed, the rug moved, the windows cleaned, the wood molding oiled, silk plants washed and the hardwood floor mopped, the room was ready for the bed.

The two delivery guys from Thomasville Furniture did a great job of bringing the furniture up the front steps and setting up the bed, which took about an hour. Those side rails are bolted in place and that bed isn’t moving! I am thrilled that I got the wall washed.

Once the bedding was in placed I was able to return the plants to their corners, and the chairs back to their spots, that is when it hit me and I had to laugh.

One of the many things we love about our home of 3 years, is the incredibly high ceilings. With my husband 6’3” frame, he really wanted tall ceilings in our new home. Even the downstairs has taller ceilings, than any of our other homes. With tall ceilings and an open floor plan, the furniture needs to be a bit bigger in appearance to fill the space and not be dwarfed.

 With the other bedroom furniture it wasn’t noticeable and the scale matched up, but with the new bed and chest of drawers I’m using as nightstands, wow the chairs look miniature now.

Oh how one thing leads to another and now I have a master bedroom that is a work in progress. This chair has a mate and they too will soon grace the new guest room and that makes me happy as I do love these chairs. Would it surprise you to know that we’ve had these chairs (although they have been recovered) since we were married over 30 years ago! Yes, there is a bit of history with these chairs.

In the meantime they will stay put as I begin a search for chairs, keeping my options open I will search some consignments stores and if I find the right size and look, I’ll purchase them and have them recovered. Another option would be to move an amazing chair from my office and one from the downstairs family to the master, but they too would need to be recovered. Any way you look at it, I will need a couple of new chairs.

 Who knew!

 Care to share your thoughts, I’d love to hear!

Enjoy! Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

