It’s But a Dream, 2012 HGTV Dream Home


 Are you entering the Sweepstakes for the HGTV Dream Home 2012?  Recently I read a blog posting on Facebook from a fellow blogger and she exclaimed that she started every New Year with a posting on the HGTV Dream Home, and well, this year she felt as though she was being a “Negative Nellie” because she didn’t like it.   I shared my thoughts with her and I’d like to share my take on this year’s HGTV Dream Home 2012 with you!

 

Imagine my excitement when I heard that the HGTV Dream Home 2012 was to be in my home town of Park City!  As I followed the posting on HGTV and John Gidding on Facebook, the excitement to catch a glimpse grew!  I down load the app to my Ipad2 and I waited until I received the email that stated it now ready for viewing on the HGTV website. 

 

I quickly clicked on it and saw the first picture I thought to myself, “Okay, not bad”!  When I click on the picture that took me around and inside, I too was less than impressed  So once I did the click on every picture in my thirst to see more of the 2012 Dream Home, I decided to go back through and read each description to understand their vision and once I did that, it all made sense.  Here is what I took away and what I remember hearing last year. 

First the Dream Home is actually in Midway, Utah and not Park City.   Park City is just minutes away by car, but the area from this girl who loves nature is lovely!  There is so much to do from hiking and mountain biking in the summer where the air is fresh and crisp to breath taking snowfall which leads to snowshoeing, cross country skiing and the Sundance Film Festival!  I’d say if you are a city girl, then winning and moving here might not be your cup of tea!

How I understand the vision for this house was a Modern Ranch home that through the years was added onto for a growing family, hence the look.   I’m not loving the boardwalk that surrounds the outdoors, but considering how close you are to the Provo River.  Is the ground wet?

 

When you step inside, you are greeted by to very modern pictures.  I seem to recall that Linda Woodrum stated in last year’s Stowe Vermont Dream Home video that she liked to get local artwork that reflected the area of the Dream Home.  Hum………  Well if you are going to do a Modern take on interior and not the expected vision of a mountain home interior, than shopping at Ethan Allen would be the place to do it, but NEW YORK?  

 http://www.hgtv.com/dream-home/dream-home-videos/index.html 

The Dream House dream team delivered and was spot on with this Modern take of a Ranch House, as you look at the HGTV Dream Home you’ll see the clean lines of the furniture, the cabinet handles, the pattern of the fabric used throughout the home and more.  When you understand the look they were trying to accomplish and chose to look at it through their eyes and vision, you can see that they did just that.   It works whether you like this style, it works.   Will you enter or just pass it by because it’s not your style?  Remember a couple of things, first you have to be the winning entry and secondly, should you win you can change it up and make it more you!   With that in mind, why not try a different look after all it’s a New Year with new adventures, let the HGTV Dream Home 2012 be one of your new adventures! 

 

What are your thoughts on the 2012 HGTV Dream Home Park City?

If you care to share, I’d like to hear!

Enjoy!

Linda

Photos from; HGTV and found on Bing

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

