Giddy over a Master Bedroom Redo!


The time has come when the last one flew the nest!  It’s true, we are now empty nesters with a brand new guestroom to do!  The question was asked by my darling as to my plans for the room and not understanding where he was going with it, the movie Failure to Launch sprung to mind.  However I don’t think that is what he had in mind so I quickly pushed that idea to the curb!   As I pressed for an explanation, he asked me, do I want new Master bedroom furniture or buy something new for the newly acquired guest room! 

My, oh my, what to do, what to do!  New Master furniture could mean new bedding, and of course no matter what I decided the New Guest room would need bedding!  Which I’ll share in a later post!  Just the thought of new furniture is enough to make this girl giddy!

 

As you can see the bedroom furniture I currently have, well I liked it and I think it works quite well, but my darling had a different vision, one of dark wood.  Who am I to stand in the way of a new bedroom suite?   Let the hunt begin and I knew exactly where it should begin, at Thomasville Furniture. 

 I found an almost black bed with a similar head board as I currently have.  Remember it wasn’t the style but the color of wood he was after.   I showed the picture to my darling and it was too dark for him, nonetheless I had him take a look in person and it was when I saw my husband standing next to the headboard, I knew it would be way too tall for the wall in which the bed had to be placed, due to the two windows that would be almost covered up.  Sorry I don’t have a picture of this bed as it was very dramatic with its height and color.

 

It’s a good thing that I found at least two more beds for him to look at. Both of the beds are from the Ernest Hemingway Collection.  The first I showed him was a dark brown leather sleigh bed (below).  With carving on the side rail and the other one was a four poster bed,  with the headboard in Rattan (above).  Both were equally stunning but the rattan was not his style and the posts were a firm no!

 

 Wanting to make sure we check out other options we headed for Hamilton Park where I found this one by Hickory White.  I love the feet of this Hickory White bed without a foot board.  This type of bed seems to be hot right now.  I’ve notice that many stores are sporting this footless bed and I absolutely  love the way the bedding is tucked under the mattress.

 

We now had options and a 50% off discount coupon from Hamilton Park.  Sweet!  We narrowed it down to two different beds, the Thomasville Ernest Hemingway leather sleigh bed or the Hamilton Park Hickory White bed.   The leather would give my husband the “mountain” home look he was after and the Hickory White bed would give the room a different look without a footboard.  Something I found out about my husband of 32 years is that he actually likes a footboard.  

The winner is the Ernest Hemingway Leather Sleigh Bed!  I loved  the Ernest Hemingway bachelor chests that they used as night stands, they were big not taller but longer and I could use the extra space on top, plus I also love the legs on this nightstand better, with the nightstand raised off of the wood floor.  What is also exciting is that Thomasville honored the 50% off coupon of Hamilton Park!  Plus they gave us 40% off the nightstands instead of their sale price of 30% off.  Lesson here is to ask for a discount, it never hurts and as you’ll learn in a later post, it also pays to shop around, give yourself plenty of options, this way you’ll always get the best deal for you!

 

I can’t wait to show you how the bed looks in the room, but it is a waiting game as the furniture had to be ordered and although it is in stock, it’s clear across the country and with the holidays, well it may be a week or two. 

 I love reading your comments and hearing what you think!  So which Bed would you have choose and why? 

 Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Giddy over a Master Bedroom Redo!

  1. Hi Linda, I am a new subscriber and really enjoyed getting to pick new master bedroom furniture with you! So hard to choose, I loved all your finalists! I think we probably would have chosen to paint the bed and nightstands you have (which I love the shape and scale of in your room) and taken a trip to Aruba with the money we saved! Then shopped around at resale shops to furnish the new guest room. You have lovely taste and I love your final choices. Can’t wait to see them in place.

    • Welcome! Glad you join the conversation and for sharing your thoughts and ideas! Ah the boy would have had to live with the color the current furniture as I still love it! But that is an excellent idea! Aruba huh, have you been there before?

  2. Pam says:

    Congratulations on your empty nest and your new furniture! I’m sure it’ll all look fabulous!

    What an exciting time for you!
    Pam

  3. Cindy McTigue says:

    I love the ideas for the bedroom.

  4. Ashley says:

    I loved both of your finalists. For myself, my choice would have been the bed without the footboard. It was interesting how they tucked all the bedding under the mattress. It really showed off the bed. The sleigh bed is going to look amazing in the room. I loved the carving on the rail.

  5. Hi Linda, it’s Audrey from Facebook! I would have picked the sleigh bed as well. I LOVE IT! I used to have one that was VERY long and it had quite a large space at the bottom between the footboard and the mattress. I have miniature dachshunds who sleep with me and they used to fall into the space, so I ended up having to stuff it with pillows! Yours looks beautiful. I can’t wait to see it in your room!

Leave a Reply

