A Great Room- Open Floor Plan


 

 Recently one of my favorite bloggers Stacey over at Conspicuous Style Interior Design, blogged about Open Floor Plans, and as I looked at mine and reflected about the first time I was introduced to the idea, I wasn’t much about it!

 

I remember peeking into a window of a home that was currently on the market for sale and unoccupied.  Front the side light by the front door, I could see right to the kitchen counter bar.  Which was open to the living room and dining room and thinking to myself, this would never work for me.

 

So I admit it, I now sing a different song and I come to love it.   It has it pros and of course it’s cons.   The Pro is I am always a part of what is going on around me, engaged in conversations, a part of the party and speaking of parties, the flow is absolutely perfect!  I never have the feeling of being boxed in.

 

The Cons well, the noise coming from the kitchen doesn’t make it easy to watch a TV show.  So when the family is watching the TV, forget about turning on the mixer to make cookies!  Plus I am always reminded that there are dirty dishes to put into the dishwasher!

 

What I change anything about my home?  No, I love the open floor plan, I love my Great Room!  And yes, I do know that I am lucky, blessed and spoiled!  I don’t take one minute for granted!

 

How do you feel about a Great Room with an Open Floor Plan?

Thanks for stopping by, I love to read your comments too!

Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating, Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Great Room- Open Floor Plan

  1. Jennie Bush says:

    Hi Linda,

    I love your home, and especially the entry foyer floor! Would you mind sharing what color the wall paint is in the foyer? Thanks, Jennie

  2. G David Bozarth says:

    I love your floor plan I would like to see the exterior of the house? Is there some other site to see all of it? who did the design and would you change anything after living in it?

    • Thank You, Currently there isn’t anywhere to see the exterior. I am planning to add to my blog about my home. I am not sure who designed it originally but I do know that the interior was changed. We bought the home when it was about 90% finished. What would I change? I would have had added an exterior door to the lower level. My guests find the stairs leading to the front door daunting and even more so in the Winter time. I think I would have added an intercom system and removed one of the lower level windows as it really doesn’t serve a purpose and it doesn’t open, so we lost valuble wall space. Are you thinking of building a home?

  3. G David Bozarth says:

    Would you take a picture and send it to my e-mail. How many sq ft. on the main floor?

  4. Mandy says:

    I am building a new home and I would love for it to look as much like this as possible! Are you willing to share type of cabinets, flooring, stain color, paint color and definitely the stone? I know this was a post from a few years back…Hope to hear from you!

    Fingers Crossed,
    Mandy

    • Hi Mandy, by now you may already be living in a new home. I have a huge mix of woods. Cabinets are cherry, floors are walnut, doors and casings are knotty alder, some ceiling is cedar planks. The stone is actually a stacked rock!

Leave a Reply

