Succulents, so trendy, so hot, so fun!


 

Who knew Mother Hen and her Chicks would be so trendy?  Not me!  Who knew that you’ll find Succulents in a bride’s bouquet and in her wedding décor?  Not me! But I do now and here is how I came to know!

 I recently attended my Willow House Convention in lovely Atlanta Georgia and as the designers brought our Product Showcase to life, they demo the beautiful Mediterranean Bowl full of wonderful succulents and Kay shared how they are very trendy, requiring a little more water than cactuses, yet were friendly and easy to plant.   As I sat there reflecting on the Willow House Spring Catalog, there was another picture with succulents, which I never gave much thought about prior to that moment.

 

Then there was the most amazing colorful succulent wreath that I saw on Sunset Magazine’s website.  I posted it shortly thereafter to my Willow House business page on Facebook, http://facebook.com/LindaBurtWillowHouse .  I had several comment postings as to how to re-create the wreath.   I’ve since Pin that image on my Pinterest Boards, under Wreaths.  Now that I think about it, I should make sure it on my Succulent Board too!  http://Pinterest.com/Linda_Burt   Check it out for yourself!

 As I thought more and more about Succulents, I decided to Bing the word Succulents and all kinds of images popped up.  I was absolutely amazed to see all the wedding pictures as well as various containers.  That is when I decided that I needed to create a Pin Board, but not just Succulents, but Succulent Bridal Bouquets as well!  They were beautiful, exciting, creative and unusual!  What Bride doesn’t want her wedding to stand out with a tastefully unexpected?

 

I got to thinking how could I bring Kay’s message to life in my own home, you see succulents offer you so many amazing options with texture, colors, shapes, shades, some smooth, some a bit fuzzy, you have round petals and pointed ones. Simply lots of choices and I was intrigued! 

 

I popped into Cactus and Tropical to look at their succulent selection and I pursued the container section, looking for that one container that would pop out at me.  I just didn’t feel it for any of the containers and there were plenty of options, just not the one that spoke to me.  Yet their Succulent selection was amazing and I went wild.  I talked with the ladies telling them how popular succulents were and telling them that they are trend forward!  They too were amazed and the purchasing gal stated that she was having a hard time keeping them in-stock! 

 

With my purchase I headed home, as I thought about it I remember that I had the perfect container in my garage that was begging to be used as you’ll soon see.  Then I remember that I actually have another one of these containers and hence a Contest came to mind!  You’ll find the info at the end of this blog!  Are you ready?   Me too, so let’s get started shall we?

When buying plants, I always believe you should buy more than you think you need, that will give your containers the designer look of being healthy, lush and full!   At one point I thought I had actually bought too many!  Ha!

 

Double what you see in this box as I had already started the planting process when I realized that I hadn’t taken any pictures!   The Container in the picture is called the Montcrest Sectional, comes in two pieces, works beautifully around a patio table umbrella and the Container is actually food safe, so you could use it as a serving pieces and is dishwasher safe too! 

How beautiful is the red tipped succulent?  Or the Sage blue with a blush of pink?  Have you picked a favorite yet?  Hard isn’t it, and now you can see why I went a little wild in the store!  But wait there is more!!

After adding the dirt to the container, I started removing the containers and placing the plants in the dirt.  They started to fill up pretty fast but I had more plants to add, the great thing about wet dirt is, you can gently squeeze the roots and dirt to fit the spot of the container that you wish to add the plant to!

By the time I was through, all of the Succulents that I had purchased were securely planted in the Montcrest Container and placed around the patio umbrella!  But first one last picture, toes and all! 

Well, what do you think?  Have you fallen for Succulents like I have? 

Here is the GiveAway!  I am giving away a Brand New Montcrest Sectional Container without the Succulents, to one lucky subscriber.  Must live in the United States.  You’ll have three chances of entry. 

1.  Subscribe to my blog and leave a comment, is a must!!

2. Like my business page and leave a comment at http://facebook.com/LindaBurtWillowHouse

3. Share my link on your Facebook page, linking it back to me using the @ sign followed by my FB business name.

Contest closes on Tuesday August 15 with winner announced on Wednedsay August 16.  Wishing each of you the best!

Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Succulents, so trendy, so hot, so fun!

  1. Sally Eidson says:

    Which plant would I select first? Why I like All of them. Had really never thought about fixing a mixture of succulents for the sunroom or patio, but this is an inspiration. You did a fabulous job!
    Sally Atchley Eidson 🙂

  2. magpiestop says:

    love what you did here Linda!

  3. Robin Blocker says:

    I moved to Atlanta previously living in the southwest and southern California. I have always loved succulents, but didn’t know if they would do well here. I have just recently been planting pots with various succulents. They are wonderful, drought resistent plants and always look great. I love your website and the pot that you featured. I had never seen the montcrest sectional container–very nice. Thanks for sharing. Robin Blocker

    • Thanks Robin,
      It was so much fun putting this together and a great use for the Montcrest. The Montcrest is a retired Southern Living at HOME product that I felt in love with. Since Mother Hen and her Chicks are a succulent and I’ve seen them grown in the Midwest, I would tend to think that succulents are perfect no matter where you live! If you get a chance check out my Pin Boards as I have two on Succulents. Visit http://Pinterest.com/Linda_Burt
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and I am so thrilled that you stopped by to enjoy!
      Smiles,
      Linda

  4. Lisa says:

    I have been searching for this cute little caddy/tray that goes around the umbrella on a patio table. My friend had one last summer and I loved it. Any idea where I can purchase one?

Leave a Reply

