Dining in the Round!


  I love round dining tables!  They make the perfect way to view guests, carry on a conversation while sharing a meal!  So when we decided to sell our home and make the move up to Park City, I knew neither my oak kitchen table nor my formal and very traditional dining table would make the move to my new home.   Once we started looking at homes, I started dreaming of a round table, when square tables were big in the furniture stores!  Before we even closed on a new home, I had begun the shopping process.

 

Three months later and three months before we closed a deal on our home, I had found my table at Drexel Heritage.  I took my husband into the store where they had a 54 inch round table on the show floor.  He liked it too and because it wasn’t the size I had envision I convinced him that we should go ahead and order the table in the next size up, 60”.  We were told it could take a couple months to get the table made and in the warehouse.  Okey dokey, the order was placed.  Lucky for us the table came in ahead of time, well lucky if we had a new house to put it in!  My husband razzed me for weeks, “who buys a table before the house?”  Drexel Heritage agreed to hold it in their warehouse until we were ready!  Phew!   Now what good would a table do without new chairs to go with it?   “But honey, they are having a sale and we can get a good deal on them!”   Six chairs were purchased and held with our new round dining table!

 

With the new home finally secured and closed on, I looked at the dining area, I started thinking, perhaps I should have gotten the 70” round, which could hold 8 dining chairs.  So I googled the name and number via Drexel Heritage website and to my amazement I discovered my new table was a Frances May design!

 

Who is Frances May?  I googled her too, and discovered she is the author of Under the Tuscan Sun.  Remember that fun movie with Diane Lane?  Her character goes to Italy, buys a Villa and restores it?  Well actually Frances May, purchased that Villa for real!

 

My beautiful table is from her At Home in Tuscany line for Drexel Heritage.  It’s call The Celebration Tavola Table, hand finished with an Amaretto color.  I love that table and remember when it was finally delivered to my home.  Two gentlemen carried the table base in first, and then returned with the table top placed on the base and secured it.  Being solid wood it was heavy and the stairs into my home are plenty!  Sorry guys!

 

The chairs we purchased were not of that line but my husband really liked them.  I think it was the mix of leather seats and nail head trim along with the shape that sold him.  I had originally wanted to change the fabric on the chairs, but have since changed my mind. 

 

Shortly after the table had arrived and was in place we went shopping for area rugs.  We worked with Hamid  Bashir, owner of Simantov Oriental Rug Gallery.  In fact that is where we purchased all of our rugs.  Hamid knows his rugs and has a very good eye!   He came to our home, looked at our furnishing and knew the exacted rug for each room.  Perfect match wouldn’t you agree?

 

The only thing I would have done differently would be to purchase the 70 inch round table.  The space could have accommodated it and I would have been able to add two more chairs, giving me more seating options.  Oh well!  At some point in the future I think I will have slip covers made with piping just for the chair back, so I can change out the look and so that they don’t clash with my tablescapes!  That’s a future project, but for now other areas are demanding my time and resources!

Thought I’d share a few more pictures with you!  The gorgeous light fixture! 

 The glass front cabinet and counter space for hot dishes!

As you can see the room is surrounded by windows on three sides.  Here is one last angle.  Plus you can see some of the rock I have in my home.  My home is filled with lots of natural elements!

One last picture! Since I was down on his level, he thought it was play time or at the very least, he should say Hello!  Greetings from Sully!

Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dining in the Round!

  1. Karen says:

    Just wanted to let you know that your dining table is beautiful. I really love a round table. They encourage great conversations at a dinner party…you are never too far away from anyone. Hope it will be the source of many pleasant times.

    • Thanks Karen, I couldn’t agree more! That is exactly why I love a round table and have decided to add round patio tables in the future! Thanks for visitng today!

Leave a Reply

