Escape to Summer Plaids and Floral


What does a Chef Salad, bottle of Chardonnay, and girlfriends all have in common? A Good Time!

When you gather a group of girlfriends together the laughter, love, friendship flows into one beautiful summer evening! Raising a glass of wine to toast in the official start of summer in the mist of giving and loving hearts, what could be better?

Let’s begin with the thought process of this tablescapes! One of my favorite stores in the Salt Lake City valley is the Basket Loft. With two locations, I’m often at the Cottonwood store, where I chat it up with Erin, the store manager and Karen, her mother. Look for them when you visit and tell them that Linda sent you!

Anyway that is where I find lots of my square tablecloths, why square if my table is round? It’s hard to find nice, fun 90” round tablecloths. So often I use a cream color round tablecloth that I picked up at Bed Bath and Beyond and top it with a square print, in this case 55 x 55. It’s all in the layering effect that helps with the visual interest! Today’s table cloth by NOW Designs, called Rosette Jacquard Habanero, is stunning with the turquoise, burnt orange, butter yellow to lush golden yellow and cream, plus varying shades of those colors as they criss-cross over each other! Woven into this summer plaid are flowers and leaves adding another layer of interest!

I also buy many of my cloth napkins at the Basket Loft, as you can see the orange-yellow looks charming with the dragonfly napkins ring, purchased several years ago from Southern Living at HOME!

I added by recent purchase of two candlesticks that I purchased at Randee and Company along with three wire birds.

Only two of the birds made the table and I am thinking that I really needed a third candlestick! Which I hope to buy another short one!

The floral Daisy Balls are leftovers from my Bees and Daisy Bunco party. True they are starting to look a bit faded but nonetheless I chose to use them on top of the candlesticks!

I love salt cellars and I found these Martha Stewart at Macy’s last fall! The color and shape works perfectly with this tablecloth! The spoons I picked up on my travels in Texas.

Adding the Willow House Villa Stoneware, with a cream color and perfect pearl beading, finished off by a warm brown rubbed glazed, has to be one of my all-time favorite dish to work with. I love that it doesn’t compete with the tablecloth, but rather accentuates, giving me the ability to bounce off colorful salad plates, along with many other options. Willow House Gallery Flatware added to each side of the plate and the Emerson Stemware completes the place setting.

How perfect is the small plate of freshly baked baby cake donuts that Mary brought to share? I will tell you that I enjoyed her tasty treat very much so!

Well there you have it, a no fuss, simple summertime table, where the focus is on the friendships that circle the table!

Enjoy! Linda

Resources;

Willow House for dishes, flatware and stemware

Basket Loft for tableclothes and napkins

Macy’s for Martha Stewart  salt cellar floral bowl

Randee and Company for candlesticks and wire birds

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Escape to Summer Plaids and Floral

  1. Becky says:

    Linda,

    I may be missing it, but where are the buttery yellow salad plates from that you used on top of our villa dishes? I would love to layer those on top of my villa, too!

    • Hi Becky,
      The plates you are referring are from Southern Living at HOME, now called Willow House, designed by Gail Pittman. They have long since been retired. Should you wish to look at Gail Pittman’s other lines of pottery, you can find her on FB as well as if you were to google her. Thanks for asking and for stopping by!
      Sincerely,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

