Here’s to you Mrs. Robin!


It’s confession time, and I proudly admit it, I am a Gift Shop Junkie!   It’s true that I love to shop, even if it is just window shopping as my sweet Momma says.  I believe a gal can just browse, right?   Don’t you?

One of my favorite things to do when I’m traveling is to find fun gift shops, not the kind that sells the tourist trinkets, with the area’s name blasted all over the item.   I’m talking about the kind that has fun things such as Mrs. Robin with her hat. 

 

Recently on a trip to Alaska, my oldest daughter took me to a gift shop where my eyes lit up and my heart took a flutter.  I love to slowly stroll through the store taking in all the goods and there was plenty to take in.   I definitely will make her take me there again!  I could have spent a bit more time in there, but the guys were with, I know I don’t have this same love in common with my husband!  Next time, we leave the guys at home!

 What I love about little independently owned gift shop around the country is that their buyer or shop owner has their own unique eye, purchasing items that touch them in some way, vs. chain stores that purchase items that they think the rest of the population will love. 

 

Back to Mrs. Robin, isn’t she just charming in her finery?   Why I do believe she is headed into town for a bit of shopping herself!  Gosh, this could be dating me, but I’m going to share a childhood memory with you nonetheless.  I remember when my Mother would get all cleaned up, changed her clothes before heading off to do some shopping.  Nothing fancy, just clean clothes that was ironed and pressed.  Back in those days you simply didn’t wear the clothes you had been cleaning house in, or gardening.  What happened to those refined days?   Pj bottoms and slippers just aren’t cool for public.

 Mrs. Robin caught my eye, certainly not because I have this thing for birds, actually it’s quite the opposite; however birds like this are more to my liking.   With it being spring time one of the first signs of spring was actually spotting a robin red breast, bringing hope to your heart that the long winter was surely coming to an end.  

 With her charming red breast looking more of a deep coral and coral being a color that I am drawn to, made me stop and pause.  I gently picked her up, showed her to my daughter and chuckled over her soft green hat.  Another color that I like with my corals!  I sat her back down and moved on, but my thoughts kept returning to her and my office, I knew exactly where I wanted to place her, knowing that she would look perfectly delightful in that spot. 

 

Well she didn’t end up inside this wire container, but will rest on my Office fireplace mantel where merely seeing her will bring back the memories of my time with my oldest daughter in Alaska!

 What do you think?  Is she charming?

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

