MIA Bridal Shower


I am very excited to share with you a Bridal Shower party favor that I have created for my daughter’s MIA Bridal Shower.   I imagine you’re asking what a MIA Bridal shower is.   Some people call it a virtual shower; I’ve decided to call it a Missing in Action bridal shower.  The bride is unable to be here due to other commitments that prohibit her from returning home for the event!   Not quite the same as having the bride present but I do believe that she deserves to have beautiful new things to start out her married life.  Would you agree?

 There is much left to decide, with hopes to Skype her in, do we open the gifts on behalf of the bride?   Who doesn’t love to see what others have purchased for the bride?   Anyway, one thing that I have decided on was the party favors for each guest. 

 I can’t wait to show you what I’ve done so far and in the next couple of weeks I look forward to sharing with you the tablescapes with these amazing pop of color boxes, I think they will be very striking on black square tablecloths over a white tablecloth.  What do you think?

 

I’d like to share how I created this gift, starting with my choice of colors.  The Bride hoped to have her attendees in black dresses with pops of lime green or orange accessories.  So the color choice of the boxes was simple enough.  I decided to throw in the bright pink.  

 

I searched for 3-4 inches round paper Mache boxes and I finally found them at Michael’s craft store.  The first store only had 3 boxes, so I drove from store to store until I ended up with 18 boxes.  I still have a couple of stores to hit should I need a few more. 

 

Next I choose the silk flower; I need large blooms that just about cover up the lid of the box.  This is where this project could get pricey.  However I suggest you shop the sales.  I decided to check out Joann’s Fabric for more paper Mache boxes and while I was there I found the Pink Hydrangea, the petals had a hint of green and varying shades of pink!  Perfect and they were on sale, yet unsure I decided to purchase just one. 

 

It was at Michaels that I found the orange bloom and I liked that it had a bud on the stem too!  Next I needed some butterflies to add to the orange blooms and hummingbirds to add to the pink.  Michaels had the butterflies but not the hummingbirds.  Happily I found the hummingbirds at Joann’s Fabric.  Once again they didn’t have all that I needed and I found myself driving from store to store.

 

With a paper Mache box, you have the option to cover it up and I did just that with paint.  To choose the color of green the options were endless, knowing that it was a lime green and I wanted it to be bright help to narrow my choices, I chose Gecko of the Ceramcoat brand.  A quick way to cover the box with paint is with a 2 inch sponge brush.

 

Paint them up and let them dry.  If you need to do some touch ups or add another coat, you can.   The box will feel a bit rough so I gave each one a light spray with Krylon Low Odor Clear Finish.  I took mine out to the patio to spray and let dry.

 

Once that was done I was ready to apply the ribbon to tie the lid to the bottom and add the flower and embellish with either the bird or butterfly.   With a spot of hot glue to the bottom of the box to hold the ribbon in place and one spot to the lid now the box lid and bottom with stay united.  Next a squirt of hot glue on the lid and I pushed the flower into place along with its counterpart!

 

Done!  Are you wondering what is going into the box?  I plan to add either 3- 3 inch cookies or we’ll make mini bite size cookies in the favorite flavor of the bride and groom.

 What do you think?  Will the tables look striking with a box at each place setting? 

 Enjoy!
Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Party Theme. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MIA Bridal Shower

  1. Denise Cosgrove says:

    Linda, those are going to look adorable on all of the tables. The colors are so yummy! Can’t wait to see all of this beauty come together! You are amazing.

  2. This is exactly what I’m looking for to use as favors for an upcoming bridal shower – i need to make 60 though. I better get started. ;o(

Leave a Reply

