Red Roses, Valentine’s Day and Love


 

Go hand in hand and generally the men in our lives fork out the big dough for these beauties.  Years ago I told my husband that florist roses just didn’t do it for me and that I liked the mix bouquets better.  In fact he knows that Carnations are one of my favorites.   I am sure that he felt much relieved to hear me say that about roses. 

Every Anniversary he either has a mixed bouquet delivered or he brings home a bunch.  Every year he tells me the story about how the person on the other end of the phone questions his judgment in not sending me roses.  I often chuckle at his recanting the conversation and I assume they think he is just being cheap. 

I have nothing against Roses, I just prefer the garden home grown roses.  I have several rose bushes in my garden and I select each one for their scent along with color.  There are fruity, peppery, vanilla fragrances.  But florist roses, as beautiful as they are to look at have no smell.   Hence the reason I just don’t care much for them for Valentines Day.
I do purchase bundles of them from Costco and once their done and spent, I hang them upside down to dry and then put them into basket in my laundry room.   Silly I know but the price is much better at Costco.

Any way years ago I took a floral arranging class, which was a series of classes with a local florist in her shop.  I thought it would be fun to play with flowers, and better yet, each week meant fresh flowers in my home arranged by me! 

The day we worked with roses, the florist told us a could of secrets, a florist never discards many flowers, on roses, they peel away the outer petals if they are brown or wilted.

She also share this tip to extend the life of your roses should they fade a bit too fast.  Fill your bathtub with cold water.  Remove the roses from the vase, trim a bit off of the stem and laid them in the water.  Next you’ll need to submerge them in the water so grab your stock pot from the kitchen and fill it with water to hold the roses down under the water in the tub.  Leave for about an hour, remove the pot and place the roses back into the vase.  The heads of the roses should be upright once more.  

Super simple and it does work.  I’ve done it many times myself! 

Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Roses, Valentine’s Day and Love

  1. Linda – great ideas especially about the roses. I never knew that you could submerge them in cold water and have them come back. Keep the ideas and tips coming.

Leave a Reply

