Tisket a Tasket, a brand new Floral Basket!


 I’ve had this Southern Living at HOME Franciscan wall basket for many years.  I’ve love the shape, color, and look of it.  The floral arrangement that I put in it many years ago was never my favorite look and so it was always outside on my garden potting bench.  Since moving to my new home almost two years ago, boy does time fly!  I brought it into the master bathroom, toilet closet.

 

If fit perfectly on the wall above the commode, but once again the arrangement lack….well, that wow factor.  Not to mention that some of the flowers had faded, actually they were the wrong color all together. 

 

So I snapped my pictures, and took it down, once I had purchased the new flowers.  As you can see, I am using more of the reds and I hope you’ll agree they really pop off of the wall color.  Of course this is the master bathroom and the only ones who will really view them on a regular basis are me and my husband.  But that’s okay as it will bring us joy.

Oh I’m sure your thinking, really joy to a man?  Well he did notice something was missing when I took the basket down.  He said to me just the other morning, “what happen to that picture?”  Okay so it wasn’t flowers that he was missing, he just knew something was missing!  He gets half a point for something being missing! 

Back to the new flowers, which were all purchased at Michael’s and with the exception of the 3 stems of Orchids were all on clearance!  Score! 

 

To get a full look, I purchased a total of 9 stems of flowers and one bush plant.   Even though I did not use the entire green plants, I just clipped off what I need to get a lush look to the container of flowers.  You’ll always need the greenery as it’s there in nature and you want a natural lush look. 

 

Because this is a metal basket which is open and visible, I covered the Styrofoam with various moss.  Simply get the moss wet, cover the foam and slip into place.

From the outside of the basket, I had to tuck and push more moss to cover up the green foam.   Not hard to do and completes the look from below.

 

To begin the floral arrangement, I took my fullest flowers, which were the Hydrangeas.  Clipping them to length using wire cutting pliers, still not an easy task!  What I normally do when trying to cut though the plastic of the stem to the wire, is put pressure on the pliers and wiggle the stem back and forth until I feel the wire snap.  Simple cut the plastic with a scissor and you’re done.

 

Not very noticeable was the level in which I placed the Hydrangeas into the basket.  It’s slight at best. 

 

Next I grab the one Cabbage rose that I purchased and placed that in the center between the two Hydrangeas.   

 

The Mums went in next and I wanted to accentuate both the top of the basket as well as the base of the basket.   As much as I could I used the leaves that came with each flower and the thing about silk flowers is the use of wire so you can bend the leaves to give you the look you wish to achieve.

 

With the ivy plant bush, a wise choice to purchase as you have many stems from which to choose.  I simply cut about 4 stems off, scooted the leaves up the stem, since I need them towards the top and not at the base of the stem or arrangement.  I insert three of the stems right at the basket’s lip, to help conceal the foam from a view from the top of the arrangement.  Once they were in place I move on to the fillers.

 

Now it’s time for the fillers, these are generally the smaller flowers, they add a touch of airiness to the arrangement, in this case I used these gorgeous Orchids with a touch of the reddish-orange color and the bright lime green.  Each leave is spotted with some brown.  Very striking, don’t you agree?

 

I also had these Belle flowers to add, a bit more challenging as this flower stem was more stalk like.  Not a lot of bend and move ability .  I ended up clipping them down to make more of them and to fit them in where I needed them to be.

 

Once I had the basket back up on the wall, I found one little spot that needed a bit more greenery and some I clipped one more stem from the ivy bush. 

A little greenery needed at the left hand corner of the basket!

 

Finished, hung back on the wall, and I love the look!  What do you think? 

 

Back on the wall! Perfect for the setting!

Enjoy!

Linda

I am linking to: http://betweennapsontheporch.blogspot.com/2011/03/home-office-renovation-update-welcome.html

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Floral Arranging. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tisket a Tasket, a brand new Floral Basket!

  1. Pam says:

    Very cute Linda!

  2. Kimberly says:

    Linda, I just got my Franciscan basket from eBay and I just love it. Thanks for the instructions on how to put a nice arrangement inside of it, an inexpensive way to decorate. I also have had my Flower Market Door bucket that I put flowers that change with the seasons. I just love all my Southern Living at Home items.

    Kimberly

    • Yay Kimberly,

      That is exciting, you’ll love the Franciscan Basket! I have the Flower Market Door Buckets too, actually I do have two, on my office doors. I change out the flowers or foliage to match the season! I am getting ready to add the Spring flowers to them as Spring officially starts on the 20th! I hope you continue to enjoy all of your Southern Living at HOME/ Willow House decor. Have you heard that Willow House is phasing out the Decor division! Sad day for us all that have come to LOVE the quality of outstanding Home Decor! Thanks for your comment!

      Linda

Leave a Reply

