Me and Fox13!


On Tuesday December 21, 2010, I had the pleasure of being on Utah’s Local Fox13 Morning Show.   My friend Hope Woodside suggested that I share my creativity with the viewers.  I agreed and was contacted by the morning shows producer. 

 He picked the date that was open and I suggested the idea of last minute centerpieces using items that you could find at your local grocery store.  I like opportunity and challenge of helping people think outside of the box.   As you read on you’ll see one of my ideas was using bell peppers.

 Let’s face it, our focus is on shopping for gifts, making the right selection for the recipient with hopes of creating oo’s and ah’s, right?  Often we are shopping up to the last day and if you are lucky to finish early, kudos to you!  Once we’ve purchased the right gift, the next step would be in the wrapping. 

 Now it’s time to turn your attention to getting the groceries for the holiday season and generally that takes place the last couple of days, which ensure us with the freshest produce, milk and meat. 

 I bet if you are cooking Christmas dinner you haven’t given much thought to the dining table!  We need to create a feast not only for the tummy but the eyes as well.   With all the shopping done with the exception of the grocery store, funds are most likely running low, but creating a beautiful table shouldn’t break the bank and that is what my segment on Fox13 was all about, being creative at the grocery store!

 The day before my segment, the producer emailed me and said if I had pictures he’d see that they were linked to their website.  On Monday I raced about town hitting several different grocery stores, hardware store and plant shops for the right items to create my centerpieces.  Home I flew as if I had a sleigh full of goodies.   What happened next took me hours to complete.  5 very different tablescapes complete with photos.  Were they linked on the Fox13 website, well I have yet to see them, but I guess I could always suggest that they owe me another segment so that they can publish my next project.

I was hoping for a link to my website, my Facebook fan page and hopefully to encourage contact for design help.  All the centerpieces you’ll see are products that I sell with my Willow House business.  Find them all on my website; http://Lindaburt.Willowhouse.com  

 Anyway I wanted to share with you the 5 different tablescapes along with the simple ideas for centerpieces.  I hope that they help you to think outside the box any time you need a creative centerpiece.  Even though Christmas is over, I’d still love to hear which one is your favorite.   I thank Fox13 for the fun opportunity to share with their viewers, it was just delightful and I hope that I get the chance to appear again!  What would you like to see?    Let me know, won’t you?

Tablescape #1  Holly Jolly

Holly Jolly Tablescape #1

This one is about the kids, with holiday hard candy sprinkled around the center of the table.    Stemware used as candy dishes and votive holders.  The Stiletto Pedestals, new to Willow House, so delightful, they just say girlie girl!

Stiletto Pedestals, Emerson Stemware, make a fun centerpiece!

Tablescape #2  Christmas Bells- Peppers that is!   Does double duty, you are able to stuff the Green Peppers with your Christmas leftovers and the Red Peppers make a delicious Roasted Red Pepper Soup!  Check it out, what do you think?

French Wired Tiered Stand makes the perfect centerpiece for a Bell Pepper Tree. Or use it for Holiday Cupcakes.

Tablescape #3  In the Woods

Perfect look for a Mountain cabin feel!

Up close for a better view, check out the plaid placemats, layered on top of a tablecloth.   I love my Villa Stoneware collection,  as stated in the Willow House catalog, “it’s the cream of the tabletop!  Sturdy stoneware boasts organic shaping along the edge and a color that’s warm and versatile.”   I love how I can mix and match with other salad or appetizer plates and bowls that I carry in my Willow House line.  Having a basic cream plate lends itself to many options and looks!

The Cheaskepke flatware can be found in my e-Outlet, gives this setting a more casual look! Don't you agree?

#4  Is Simple Elegance

Mediterranean Sage Bowl, stunning with it's reactive glaze.

This look is very adult, the Bowl picks up the color hues of the real, fresh pine branches and berries of this wreath.  Wreaths aren’t just for hanging, think how you might surround a bowl of pasta or a beautiful green salad for any season.  Anytime you use candles on glass, be sure to include an inch or two of water to keep the candle from popping the glass should it burn down.

18/10 gauged top-quality stainless steel, blanced and weighted, never needs polishing is the Gallery Flatware from Willow House.

Final Tablescape #5   Nothing Frosty!

The only tablescape with a red tablecloth!

How beautifully the white plates pop off of the red tablecloth, as well as the white napkins in a snowflake napkin ring.  The Red and Green rimmed snowman plates are from Avon, purchase several years ago.   The Devonshire Lidded Trifle dish holds an array of colored plastic ornaments.  But we all have those ornament that have broken hook, yet we love them so much we just can’t part with them.  Try filling a container and displaying them next year!

Emerson Stemware and the Gallery Collection Flatware in use again!

Cut, that’s a wrap.  I truly enjoyed my experience with Fox13’s Good Day Utah and Kerri Cronk.  She was terrific to work with and a pleasure.   So what do you think?  Which is your favorite look?

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me and Fox13!

  1. Rita Mucha says:

    all of the table settings are beautiful, but I am partial to # 4

Leave a Reply

