Greenery in every room!


     

As a Stager you learn the importance of having greenery in every room, whether it’s a live green plant or a silk plant, they add so much to the look of the room. There are areas of my home that I’d love for a real live plant to live, but it’s just not worth the work and frustration that I know would come with trying to keep it alive!  I will say that I have a good mix of live and silk plants. 

Some people prefer the look of a real green plant and even though they are healthier for your home by providing many benefits, if you don’t choose the right one for the correct lighting, if you forget to water them, they will die and then what do you have?   Don’t get me wrong, I do have live plants in my home, but I am also commit to caring for them.

 The pros of a silk plant, they don’t require much attention, never drop a leaf and for the most part look great.  But with a silk plant they come with some things you need to do.  First is to realize that there are wires in those silk plant leaves, when they arrive to the store in boxes they are generally packed as flat as possible.  The store pulls the leaves out some, but it’s up to you to unfold them and bend them to give a more realistic look.  By doing a little tweaking to your silk plant you can make it look even fuller and lusher!

 Both types of plants do and will get dusty, and both need to be cleaned from time to time.  With a real plant you can find a spray for the leaves to give them a shine.  Or you can use a cloth, a gentle hand and a small dab of mayo to shine them up.  The benefit to doing this is to remove the dust so the plant can breathe and grow.  Consider putting the plant in a slightly warm shower, they will thrive on the moisture they absorb through their leaves as well as their roots.  Don’t forget to fertilizer your live green plant every so often to encourage grow and strength of the plant. 

 Now a silk plant where gorgeous from the lushness of it never dying leaves will gather dust and a silk plant that is dusty isn’t much to look at.  Did you know that you can put them in a shower or tub too?  I tired to wash mine twice a year and preferably in the warm weather, so I can just hose them off and let them drip dry out on the driveway.  I’ve also done this with silk floral arrangements, just know that if there are red color flowers in the arrangement, the red dye will bleed and run off, so keep the surface protected so as not to stain carpet or table covers until dried.

 It’s a great time to buy silk plants, as many places have them on sale, such as Michael’s.  I’ve also purchased silk plants at TJ Maxx and Costco.   Try to select ones that look more realistic and consider placing the plant in a container of your choice.  I often buy a bigger basket or a ceramic pot if it’s a floor plant.  Table top plants have fairly decent containers. 

 It’s that time of year, when we’ve taken the big green Christmas tree down and now the room looks bare, making it the perfect time to add a silk green tree or plant to the room!  Treat yourself and home if you can!

 Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

