Holiday Style Open House Party!


 It’s that time of year, when the world says Hello! Every friend you know stops to say……..

 I honestly feel that to be invited into the home of a friend is such an honor, a time to celebrate friendship, to share in special moments, creating memories.  This feeling is easy replicated for me, through inviting my friends into my home to celebrate the beauty of friendship and each person who drops by helps me make life long memories and for that I am ever so thankful!   

So let chat about how to go about doing a Holiday Party so you are less stressed on the party fare and flow of your party, and more focused on enjoying these special moments.

 First let me say that your invited guests will feel honored and warmed by the invite and therefore, rest assured that they are there to see you.  So often I hear women say that NOW they have to clean their homes.  They seem overwhelmed by the mere thought and often decide against opening their homes.   If this sounds like you, then let me just say, stop it, stop right now, your friends can’t be that shallow!  Their there to be with you!

Here is my solution; clean just the rooms you plan to entertain in and of course the bathroom your guests will be using.  That’s it, no more than that!   Still thinking, wondering what your guests will see when they enter your home?  Try this little exercise; step outside your front door, open it and come on in, stopping just inside.  Where does your eye land first thing?   I’ve done this little trick myself many times, I ask myself; is it eye pleasing?  Is it something I can remove for the party?   By no means am I saying you must paint, or buy new furniture, it more about a stack of papers that can be hidden for a few hours.  Or moving a vase of flowers!  Removing the plastic bag from around the plastic party cups, it’s the little things.   Put up some fresh towels in the bathroom, buy a small flowering plant or a small vase of some fresh flowers next the bathroom sink, will bring a smile to the face of guests.  It’s the small little details that perhaps go unmentioned, but find a way of touching the spirit of those fortunate to join the festivities.

 Greet guests with the background sounds of music, from the minute they walk in the front door, keeping it low as background music for the ease of conversation to flow.  Remember you didn’t invite them to a rock concert in your home!  Don’t blast them out!  Think ahead of the type of music you want to play.  

 Take your guests coats and offer up a drink.  Did you know that giving your guests a drink to hold in their hands tends to ease their fears of everyone looking at them, or the fear of not knowing anyone?  Super simple to do and quickly gives comfort to your guests.

 Create party flow and getting your guests to mingle, simply create food stations, and use the coffee table, a bookshelf, a fireplace mantel, the kitchen table or counter.  Spread it around the house and let them know that there is different food in other parts of the house.   Otherwise if it’s just in the kitchen that’s where everyone will hang out.  Isn’t that the way it always is?   You want your guests to feel free to sit down and have conversations with other guests.   When we make a new friend, we tend to look forward to seeing that person again when we’re invited back!  Having food and drink stations around the house will keep guests moving around and meeting new friends.  Who doesn’t want to make a new friend?  

Are you ready to have a party?

 Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

