Christmas Fireplace Mantel


Are you looking for a new idea? Struggling and in need of inspiration for your holiday mantel? Is your fireplace mantel a work in progress, in which you like some of the decorations you used last year, but keep adding to them to create a vision you hold in your mind? That’s me too!

This wall is quite impressive and massive with all the stacked rock, from floor to ceiling. It’s been a struggle to find a balance and interest during the other months of the year, but when the holidays hit, I know just the look I’m after!

Check out the thickness of the stone mantel, how many men did it take to raise it to that level? Two rock ledges under the mantel will need to be decorated as well!

I start by gathering everything all the key elements I’ll be using on my mantel, with the hopes that I don’t have to make many runs up and down the stairs. Knowing that I will have to climb up and down a ladder was plenty! Hey, does this count as exercise? I’d like to think so!

About a month ago while at Costco I saw these amazing huge plastic ornaments and thought how perfect they would be on the mantel. Sparkly and red, not to mention the size, big enough to compete with the thickness of the stone mantel!

Start out by removing as much as possible from the mantel, if not everything. The Winter scene of my husband’s Grandfather Barn remained as it fit perfectly with the season of the year. This Barn is a beloved part of Park City history and to know it was once the place that my mother-in-law called home is very touching! Removing all the items gives way to a quick cleaning of the mantel and stone above! Do take advantage of this opportunity to start clean!

The picture was cleaned and moved down the mantel. Taking into account the size of the picture and the TV below, I match them both up to be one above the other.

Next I brought up the pine garland, to make sure that it was as equal on both end of the mantel I grabbed the end and found the center. I placed the garland, okay make that tossed the garland up onto the mantel. The garland has clear lights, pinecones and long needles. It looks substantial and again works well with the thickness of the stone. If the pine needles weren’t long and lush, I would have combine two garlands together to give me a thicker garland and the impact that this mantel would require. The garland didn’t come with the lights, I added them to it. Now that the garland was up, I added the Poinsettia with planter to one end. I love the look of the red poinsettia and again the size and height. The red makes one look up and take in the grandeur that this rock wall demands. The red really seems to break up the natural mountainous stone.

At the other end I added a big pine wreath that is punched up with the color of ornaments and filled with red and green lights. After running an extension cord under the garland, I plugged in the wreath and ran it to a power strip that holds both the garland and wreath. With a flip on the power strip I don’t have to unplug either. I decided that too much of the Wreath was hidden by the pine garland, so I got a cardboard box and raised the wreath. Now too much of the box was showing, but with some tweaking and fluffing of the pine garland, a portion of the box was hidden, I will address the rest later.

I added the other planter with Poinsettia, made sure to pull some of the flowers forward and bent others down to give more of a natural look. With five major pieces on the mantel I moved on to filling the center between the picture and the wreath.

I added my two sweet elves and although the looked great, I knew I wanted to add the huge ornaments and using glass candlesticks, I would raise them up, while nestling a few on the mantel in the garland. With the red of the poinsettia and the ornaments, the red on the elves just wouldn’t work. Although the elves added whimsy the rest of the mantel display was more elegance, by using all of the items, the mantel would have been to busy and crowded.

I love using oversized ornaments with a ribbon tied into a bow on top and raised on candlesticks. In this case clear glass one with a sizeable bowl to hold the ornaments. By tilting the ornaments on their side adds a bit of fun and whimsy. There is a lot on this mantel but the size and length determines if it all works with out being too busy. I hope you’ll agree it’s just right!

The rock ledge below hold a Merry Christmas sign with a plain pine garland laying behind it, add just one ornament with ribbon, ties the top in with the ledge. Add a snowman with its legs dangling for more fun!

The other ledge holds two snowmen heads, bringing the poinsettia down to this ledge helps to tie it in with the top. I love the beauty of this Christmas Mantel, the red is just delightful, the sparkle of the ornaments is glamorous and the twinkle of the clear lights adds magic!

What do you think? Is it eye pleasing and delighting your senses?

Keys to making your mantel work, is to pick a focal point!  Will it be a Wreath, or favorite holiday picture.  Perhaps a cluster of candles or a collection of Christmas Villages.  One statement piece is all you need.   Will you center it or should it be off centered?   If you center it, make sure that each side is equal with the same objects.  If you off-centered it, have fun with odd number of items to the largest side.   Hope this helps!

Enjoy!
Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Fireplace Mantels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Fireplace Mantel

  1. Joddee says:

    Awesome! Mantels can be tricky but with some trial and error and a good idea of scale and creating interest something really great can be created. You have hit the ball out of the park…it’s gorgeous!!!

    • Thanks Joddee, you got that right, it’s all about scale and layers to create interest. A smaller mantel would require one to downsize the ornaments used. I love using candelsticks to raise the ornaments, it’s an out of the box use! Thanks for your kind words and glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

