Pomegranate Tartlets are always a hit!


While sitting at the dentist office, waiting my turn, I of course did what every one does in a waiting room, thumb through a magazine and if it’s the latest issue, you’ve scored!  I stumbled upon an interesting fact about Pomegranates that I think is worth sharing with you! 

Pomegranates have always held a special place in my heart as I remember as a child growing up in Chicago, me and my Dad eating this special fruit together.  It’s one of those special memories of my father that I hold dear to my heart and always brings a smile to my face.

According to Redbook Magazine they have deemed Pomegranates as November’s Superfood.  Here is the interesting fact that I didn’t about this fruit which is only in season from November thru January.  “An 80-calorie, ½-cup serving offers as much fiber as a bowl of bran flakes, plus cancer-fighting antioxidants.”    How about that? 

Before you say it takes a lot to get those little (powerful) seeds out and makes quite the mess, let me share a little secret on extracting, that I learned years ago.  Don’t you just love tips?   I grab the biggest bowl that I have, fill it with cold water and then I slice my pomegranate in quarters from the stem to the bottom, holding each piece under water, I start to push my thumb through the seeds, the red staining juice stays in the water, no mess there and the white membrane floats up as the seeds fall to the bottom of the bowl.  Simply strain off the top and your left with tasty full little red seeds!   Or hit your local Costco produce section and buy them already done for you!    Personally I think that every little child needs to experience the joys of pomegranates!

Now for my FAVORITE sweet treat that I make every year for Holiday parties.   This recipe is from Pillsbury Dec 202 Holiday Appetizers & Desserts book.

Pomegranate Tartlets

Prep Time 45 minutes (Ready in 1 hour 45 minutes)

Crust

3 Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crusts (from two 15-oz pkg.) softened as directed on the package)

Topping

1 pomegranate

Filling

1 (3-oz.) pkg. vanilla pudding and pie filling mix (not instant)

1 ¾ cups whipping cream

2 tablespoons dark rum

1 teaspoon powdered sugar

1.  Heat oven to 450 degrees. Remove pie crusts from pouches.  Unfold crusts; press out fold lines.  With 2 ½- inch round cutter, cut crusts into 36 rounds.  Press each round into miniature muffin cup.  Bake at 450 degrees for 7-9 minutes or until lightly browned.  Remove tartlet shells from pan; place on wire racks.  Cool minutes.

2. Meanwhile, cut pomegranate in half; remove seeds. Set aside.

3. In medium saucepan, combine pudding mix and whipping cream; stir with wire whisk to blend.  Cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes or until mixture comes to a boil, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Stir in rum.

4. Immediately spoon about 2 rounded teaspoons filling into each tartlet shell.  Top each with about 1 teaspoon pomegranate seeds.  Cover loosely; refrigerate at least 1 hour or until serving time.

5. Just before serving, sprinkle tartlets with powdered sugar.

Makes 36 tartlets.  High Altitude (Above 3500 Feet)  No change.

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

