Pumpkins, Gourds, Roses, oh my…………


Creating a centerpiece!

Roses & Candle Light!

Finally, a dinner party to create a floral centerpiece for, on my favorite cake stands!   Back in 2002 Southern Living at HOME featured this amazing Cake Stand called the Jackson Cake Stand on their Fall catalog, yes it was the cover girl!

The Jackson Cake Stand

I was smitten and fell in love.  I knew that I had to have it, as you are about to see it is elegant as it is versatile.  Embellished with acorns and oak leaves, this graceful stand is rubbed with a rich olive matte finish.

Acorns and Oak leaves!

 

Inside the pages of the catalog was this gorgeous floral arrangement and in past years, I have recreated it.  But this time I decided to use mini pumpkins and gourds in place of the oranges.  

Where as I am not crazy about my selection of candles, and no time to correct this little problem, I have decided to run with it!   The look of the candle takes roughly about 10 candles, of muted autumn shades.   

First things first, you’ll want to get a block of Wet Foam or Oasis.  Make sure you find this on the label, or you could end up with dry foam that looks similar.  Fill the sink up with water and place your block in to soak.  You can’t rush this process. 

Next decide how big of piece you’ll need and use a floral tape to secure to the best of your ability.  The water will loosen it up, so be very careful when transferring it to the table. 

Choose a candle and push it into the foam, water will push out.  Continue to push them in at varying heights side by side until all candles are clustered in the center of the foam.  Drain off the water. 

 

Next I’ve taken the pumpkin and gourd using shrews, I’ve stuck one end the pumpkin and the other is inserted into the foam.  Continue all around the base of the foam.  You can do this with oranges as they have thicker skin them most fruit.

Next start cutting your roses and stick them above the base of the fruit but below the candles.  Continue and add greenery as needed. 

A fun berry of some kind would add lots of depth, even better would be to find some smaller twigs with real acorns on them and insert a few around.   If only I had the time to take a walk and clip me some. 

Floral Aqua Mist adds like to the flowers.

Anyway I hope you find this centerpiece to be Autumn inspiring!   I’m sure you’d like to see the setting of the table with this gorgeous centerpiece, that’s coming friends, but right now I must cook for my guests!  

Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Floral Arranging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

