Cake Pops


 

Perfect for Breast Cancer Awareness Month, don't you think?

I’ve seen these cake pops on Amy Atlas Dessert tables and wonder what exactly is a cake pop?   They looked like suckers, yet they were different.  Then one day Amy blogged about Bakeralla new book and a give away of the day, the new book.  Of course I entered but I didn’t want to wait, so I stopped at Barnes and Noble to purchase the book for myself. 

 

My, oh my, inside, page after page, were the cutest bite size creations, known as cake pops!  They were exactly that, baked cake crumbled and rolled into balls.   The one I liked the most was the cupcake shape cake pop. 

Needing a cookie cutter, I collect the candy melts, sticks and bought ready made frosting.   Following the recipe, not quite to a tee, I made my attempt to recreate the cupcake cake pop in my own kitchen. 

 My day had been hectic and I my attempts were turning out.  So I made the executive decision to keep things simple my first time.

Rolled into balls, placed on a baking sheet and put in the freezer!

I rolled the balls, set them in the freezer to set up for just a bit, placed the candy melts in a double boiler and then I dipped the first stick into the chocolate and gently placed it into the first cake ball.  Wha la!  I again waited a bit for the chocolate to set before I dipped the entire cake pop ball into the candy melt. 

When using White Chocolate Candy Melts, if you choose to add color make sure that you coloring is an oil base.

The cake pop was too heavy and started to slide down the stick, so I decided to help it set up a bit faster and placed it back into the freezer after I sprinkled it with some cupcake sprinkles. 

I placed a block of foam into a loaf pan for the pops to dry and set up.

For my first attempt they did turn out pretty darn cute, so I wrapped them up and tied them with a bow, to deliver twelve of them to my Bunco girlfriends that very night.  They gave me their approval by their oo’s and ah’s. 

Waiting to be tied up with ribbon, they look fun!

When I do them again and I will, I’ll be sure to put less frosting into the crumbled up cake.  That is key; too much frosting and it won’t hold it shape.  Yes you’ll have left over frosting , but it’s okay to throw it away.   Perhaps at some point I will attempt the Cupcake Cake Pops, when I have more time!  Some day!

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

