For Spring Blooms


What does Fall = Spring mean?   

Late summer, early fall is when the garden shops get their Fall bulbs.  By this time of year, catalogs of Fall bulbs are in the mail.    Last year, fall of 2009, after finishing the landscaping of our beautiful new home, I headed out to the stores to purchase my Fall bulbs. Being that I have a lot more gardening beds than grass, I knew that I would need quite a few bulbs.  After weighing the cost of bulbs in the mail order catalogs, I thought Costco would be a good place to buy in bulk as my starting off point.           

And so I did, purchase package after package and I headed home with 410 bulbs of mainly Daffodils, Crocus and a small amount of Tulips.   So proud of myself with the amount that I had and feeling I had plenty to make a beautiful Spring time statement, I relished the amount of work ahead!   It wasn’t until I turned the corner and headed into my driveway that I quickly took in the gardening beds of my home.   410 Fall bulbs was only going to make a dent in the yard, the front yard!   Forget any hopes and thoughts I had on the backyard.   All 410 were going to go into the front.    

I grabbed my flower bulb planting tool, put on my garden gloves and set about planting my bulbs.

This handy tool has measurements on the side to know how deep.

So excited for Spring knowing that my yard would be a delight, I didn’t mind the task at hand, that was until I encounter the dreaded Clay soil!    It stuck to my hole maker and no matter what I did I knew I was in for lots of work!   Determined to plant each bulb, I continued on.  It wasn’t until all 410 bulbs were tucked in the ground awaiting the frozen earth of winter and the gentle thaw of Spring to push their way up and pop up to my delight, that a gardening friend told me of a tool to use in the clay soil.  An augar that is attached to a drill.  You can bet before I start this year’s planting of the backyard, I will head out to my hardware store to purchase this much needed tool!

Here are some thoughts to consider.  Are you thinking of a mix of color or certain colors? When you buy in packages some come with a mix of bulbs as well as color, for those of you that don’t want to have to think so much!   Did you know that some bulbs bloom early, mid and late Spring?   So do you want them to bloom all at once or spread them out for lots of color all spring?   Crocuses are not planted as deep as tulips, each bulb will need to be planted at varioius depth.  Are you in the city or in the wild?  Deer LOVE tulips, so if you are in an area that is prone to deer, like me, than you’ll want to stay clear of tulips. 

We’ll talk more about this later, just some food for thought, to get you started on creating a Spring infusion of color!  You’ll be so delighted that you did!

Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

