Baskets find a HOME!


As we all tend to get more and more settled into a new home, we find places for things we’ve tucked away in a storage closet.  Like in the case of the baskets I made years ago.  Yes indeed, I took some basket weaving classes.  What can I say, it soothes my creative nature.   I finally found a home to display the beauty of each basket!  Read on!

I am blessed by high ceilings in my new home and while in my laundry room one day, I was thinking how the wire basket on the counter was filling with dried roses, and where would I put them next!  Looking up at the top of my cherry wood cabinets, I thought that would be the perfect place to house them, but….  I need something to contain them.  That’s when the light bulb went on and I thought about the beautiful baskets that I’ve made, which were hidden from view and appreciation.    So today I recused them from the closet and place each one in the best possible way to show off their own style.  I am so proud of each one and now I get to admire them all the time instead of just when I need something from that closet!   Will I fill them with my Costco roses after I’ve enjoyed them and dried them?  That is yet to be determined! 

As you can see in the pictures the cabinets have some fun molding on the top which creates a lip, meaning that the actual cabinet sits below the molding.  So thinking I needed some so that my baskets were’nt hidden by cabinet molding, I went green, using some packing paper from boxes from a Southern Living at HOME order that just arrived.   Putting the paper on top of the cabinet gave my baskets just the right height, the paper is hidden from view, even still with it being brown, it blends nicely! 

Going Green, displaying my baskets, and decorating all in one morning!  Ah, now that’s a GOOD day!  Look around, do you have something you cherish?  A treasure hidden from view, where will you display it?  Look around!

Baskets find a HOME!

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baskets find a HOME!

  1. Jann Schott says:

    Linda, my mother collects baskets–has been doing that for MANY years. I was at an antique store with her and found a wooden board with “I (heart) Baskets!” on it with a wire to hang the board. It’s displayed in our kitchen.

    The house where mom used to live had plant shelves in EVERY single room except her bathroom. It’s a 3 bedroom, 2 bath home. The living room wall had a plant shelf that extended all across the east side of the living room. There was a wide archway that led to the dining room. My father collected model ships and so all his ships were displayed along that LOOONNNGGG plant shelf (we’re talking probably 15-18 feet long!)

    In the bedrooms and in the guest bathroom, along with above the door to the garage, there were plantshelves. We managed to place SO many baskets on those plant shelves! The master bedroom had the west and east plant shelves, along with the guest bathroom. Ceilings were high in some parts of the house.

    When she moved to her new house (my hubby, daughter and I live with her in this 5 bedroom, 3 bath home!), she didn’t have so much display space as she did in the previous house.

    She has larger baskets on the floor in the dining room, and she found a basket hanger she bought and stored. That’s in the reading area of the house. There are shelves the previous owner built in the kitchen and in the reading area (reading area used to be the breakfast area, but we just have chairs in there now.) There is ONE plant shelf, and for the longest time it was empty…until *I* put some baskets up there! It looked ‘naked’ without anything on it!

    She doesn’t put anything in the baskets. She just displays the baskets themselves.

    What’s funny is the collection of ships that belonged to my father now belong to my husband. They are in our bedroom (mom has the master bedroom) sitting on shelves the previous owner built for his collection of horses. He built them up high so his granddaughter wouldn’t have access to them unless he reached them for her.

    Your post reminded me that we still have space above the cabinets in our laundry room. Hmmm, we’ll have to see if Mom has anymore baskets! 😉

    Here’s a link to mom’s new house. I’ll have to see if I still have pictures from her old home.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/jann.schott/MomSNewHouseInPeoriaAZ?authkey=Gv1sRgCL26tqynmJKeNA&feat=directlink

Leave a Reply

