Stunning Flower Pots!


It’s that time of year when we all want to be outdoors enjoying the sounds of nature, feasting on the beauty of  plants and perhaps relaxing with friends over a glass of wine!   So how does one go about creating stunning flower pots for the deck or patio.  Do you ever wonder how to get the look that you often see at nurseries?    Do you know what to plant in your pot, the size of pot, how many plants?   Let me see if I can help you with this, as it really is simple.  

Start with selecting a container that appeals to you.  Is it larger, small, shallow, clay, metal?   The choices seem endless.    We are going to talk about large pots or containers.   You should consider planting the container where you want it to be in your yard.  Next you need a plant for the center that is call a Thriller!  It will be the focal point of your container.  Just one is need, such as a Spike plant or a Calla Lily.  Next I’d select the Spillers, these are the one that with time will drape over the sides and last select your Fillers, these will take up the space between the tallest plant, your Thriller and your Spillers.    Now that you’ve selected your plants and your container.  Let’s plant!

Generally I buy a large plant for my Thriller, especially since I now live in a mountain region and my growing season is shorten.   Every year I empty the dirt from my flower pots and replace with new fresh potting soil.  Why do I do that, because I water my plants until the water runs out the bottom of the pot.  Then I know that I have moisten the soil and my plants will thrive.   The plants in your pots can only take some many time of drying out and wilting until they simply die.   So when you water like this, you are flushing out some of the nutrients and then there is what the plants take from the soil.  So it is best to start with fresh soil each season.  I always take the dirt I am removing and add it to my flower beds. 

On large containers, a tip I learned many years ago, was to take the plastic container that our plants come in, remove the plants and place the empty containers in the bottom of your pots.  You will use up less soil and should you decide to move the planted pot, it won’t be so heavy. 

Toss out those tags that come with your flowers, when it comes to planting containers for your patio you need to stuff them full.   Mine are generally planted side by side, in fact they touch each other in the pots.     Add or “dress” with soil on top of the plants root balls.  Making sure to cover the plants so as to have a uniform surface.  Now all you have to do is water well and enjoy!

For smaller containers, and I’m talking table top containers, I generally choose to plant a single flower type.   Note that I don’t mean a single flower.   On smaller container it is very important for you to watch the soil as they tend to dry out faster.     It is also good to know how much sun that area of your yard or patio gets, you don’t want to plant shade loving plants in the sun, or sun loving plants in the shade.  Check with the nursery or garden center.   Happy Planting!

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

