Planting Party Seeds!


When is a Potting Bench more than a place to plant your flower pots?  When it’s party time! 

 Years ago, owning a potting bench was this gardener’s dream!  In fact reflecting back, I seem to recall a Potting Bench, that I spotted at a local charity fundraiser and I quickly knew I had to have my very own.  Sadly I wasn’t the successful bidder on the bench, so I had to inquire as to where I could purchase one of my own. 

 I was directed to my local Costco Store.  However success was not to be mine, as they were all sold out.  Refusing to give up I went online, there it was, waiting for me.  I remember putting it together when it arrived and finding just the right spot for it.  At that time I placed it on my deck where the ground was level and where I placed most of my flowerpots, along the edge of my big deck. 

 One of the things I love about my potting bench was the shelves above the bench. I quickly filled them with all things garden related, a decorated potting bench!  Unfilled pots place on the shelf below, also added to the character.  My bench has a drawer, a place to put my garden gloves when my hands weren’t filling them.  On my bench is a cleverly disguised shallow tub, under a removable wood slat top.  My bench has many features and sitting here typing this, brings back such fond memories of many happy planting seasons as well as parties!    Ahhhhhhhhh!

Okay back to the business at hand, recently I spotted the Bench on Sunshine and Citrus feature on Amy Atlas’ Sweet Designs: The Savvy Mom’s Guide  I’ve been following Amy Atlas for a while now and love her creations of the most amazing Dessert Tables!  This posting certainly touched my heart! Again the memories of parties gone bye, flooded back and so I thought I’d share the fun of a potting bench as a place to serve up the BBQ or backyard party!

My bench has served as a drink station, I could filled the tub with ice and place many drinks within.  The top could hold glasses, lemons, straws and more.  Let your imagination run away with you!  Think outside the box for your summer entertaining needs!  In that

 I wish I had a picture to show you of mine in use, perhaps this summer!   However since I’ve moved several years ago, I no longer have that perfect spot on my deck or patio, it now resides in a flower bed and just today I was thinking of how I could make it more accessible for this season’s parties!   Perhaps I just need to add a stepping stone or two! 

 

Anyway, I did come across this potting bench and although I still prefer mine, this one from the Pottery Barn does have some fun features.  Such as the wheels, the hooks and the towel bar.  The details of this potting bench certainly caught my eye.   Don’t you just love the way they’ve used it for planting and for creating a much needed bar area. 

 

Don’t you just love items that do double duty?   Your investment pays off!

 Enjoy!

Linda

About LindaVuichBurt

I have a passion for setting the stage when entertaining but also in decorating my home. As a professional stager and an Independent Willow House Design Consultant, I help others create warm and invitng homes! I enjoy creating a warm and welcoming home enviroment not only for my family but for all who enter, by delighting and exciting the senses of guests, all the while making them feel welcomed and comfortable. It is so fulfilling when I can help my friends do the same. Whether you realize, that when you serve your family breakfast, you are entertaining them with food and by setting the table, to the dishes you use to serve, you are entertaining! We all entertain to one degree or another. From the beauty of the dishes you choose, to a table cover or place mats, that is a form of not only entertaining but decorating. I hope through my blog you will be able to take away fun ideas that you can incorporate into your life style. I hope you come back often, share this with your friends and share your successes with the ideas you find in my blog. Enjoy! Linda Your Independent Willow House Design Consultant and Professional Stager!
This entry was posted in Garden, Party Prep. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planting Party Seeds!

  1. Angela Harden says:

    Linda-I love this idea! Although my potting bench has spent too many days to come inside, you challenged me to spruce mine up a bit to move it over to our outside entertaining area. Plus, your suggestion has given me an idea to revamp a hutch into a beverage center in my keeping room…not sure why I haven’t done it already!
    This will open up our entertaining possibilities wonderfully. Thanks Linda!!

    • Yay Angela, I am thrilled you love the idea and it has inspired you use your hutch and bench too! Mine doesn’t come inside my house as it is well weathered which of course adds to it’s charm! Did you click on the link to Amy Atlas, you’ll seee exactly what my Potting Bench looks like. Did you see the beverage server sitting on that shelf? I forgot to mention how it extends, and the Savannah Beverage server I sell will look absolutely perfect there! Actually I think mine will look even more stylish with the basket and stand that comes with it!
      Party on Ms Angela! Party on!

Leave a Reply

